Animated series, movies and OVAs

Clannad is one of the most iconic slice-of-life anime of the 2000s – and one of the most notoriously heartbreaking. If that’s the vibe you’re looking for, keep reading! Here is how to watch Clannad in order, including main anime, movies, and OVAs:

About Clannad

Clannad is a 2007 slice-of-life anime by Kyoto Animation. The series is based on a 2004 visual novel and follows Tomoya Okazaki, a boy who often skips school and gets into trouble.

Clannad centers on Tomoya’s encounter with Nagisa, a girl who recently returned to school after a serious illness and dreams of reviving her school’s drama club.

Claiming he has nothing better to do, Tomoya decides to help Nagisa and four other girls achieve this goal. As he grows closer to them, discovers their problems, and ultimately helps them overcome them, Tomoya realizes that life is much more interesting than he thought.

The second season, Clannad: After the story, follows Tomoya and Nagisa’s romance and their life as a young married couple and some of the series’ supernatural elements are explored in more detail.

How to watch Clannad in order

The best way to watch it all Clannad the media are in the order in which they came out.

In total, there are two anime seasons, one movie, and two OVA episodes. Here is the output order:

  • Season 1: Clannad (2007)
  • Clannad the movie (2007)
  • Season 2: Clannad: After the Story (2008)
  • Clannad: Another World, Tomoyo Chapter (2008)
  • Clannad After Story: Another World, Kyou Chapter (2009)

If you prefer to watch in chronological order rather than in release order, you can watch Clannad: Another World, Tomoyo Chapter right after season 1 of the main anime.

Related: 15 Manga Guaranteed To Make You Cry

In general, OVA episodes can both be watched after Season 1, although it’s a good idea to watch them afterwards. Clannad: After the story, because you will then be much more attached to the characters.

Finally, you can watch or skip the movie depending on how much time you can devote to it, as it doesn’t expand the story extensively and much of it is a recap of Season 1.

Related: 10 Heartbreaking Anime To Cry For Weeks Over